Automatic backups
Anki will create automatic backups of your card data. These include the text on your cards and your scheduling information, but do not include sounds or image files. Automatic backups can be useful to recover from mistakes, but you should not rely solely on them. Because they are stored on your local device, they will not protect you if your device breaks or is stolen. We recommend you combine them with manual backups.Restoring
To restore from an automatic backup:- Open Anki, and choose Switch Profile from the File menu.
- Click on the “Open Backup” button.
- Select the backup you wish to restore from.
Creating
Backups are created periodically. You can configure the time between backups in the preferences screen. The default is 30 minutes. Certain operations will trigger a backup, even if the configured time has not elapsed yet:- A one-way sync download
- Importing a .colpkg file using File > Import
- Tools > Check Database
Backups created with 2.1.50 will not be importable into older Anki versions.
Manual colpkg backups
Restoring
You can restore from a manual backup by using File > Import.Creating
In Anki 2.1.50+, you can use File > Create Backup to trigger an immediate backup. This functions like regular automatic backups, and does not include media files. To create a backup that includes your sounds and images:- Select Export from the File menu.
- Ensure “Anki collection package (.colpkg)” is selected.
- Enable the “include media” option.
AnkiWeb
Synchronising your collection with AnkiWeb provides some level of protection against your device being lost or stolen. If you need to restore your collection from AnkiWeb, you can force a one-way sync in the preferences screen, or sync from a new device, and then choose “Download”.Deletion log
Anki logs deleted notes to a text file calleddeleted.txt in your
profile folder. These notes are in a text format that can be read by
File > Import. Historically, Anki only supported a single note type
at one time. So, if you had deleted notes from different note types,
you needed to split the file into separate files for each note type
first.
However, profiles created in Anki versions newer than 25.09.2 have the
following snippet at the top of deleted.txt (hence allowing you to
import deleted.txt without the need to split the file):
deleted.txt is unique to each profile and is not interchangeable between different
user profiles.